Sanity Is Nothing

Talent is everything. If you’ve got talent, nothing else matters. You can screw up your personal life something terrible. So what. If you’ve got talent, it’s there in reserve. Anybody who has talent they know they have it and that’s it. It’s what makes you what you are. It tells you you’re you. Talent is everything; sanity is nothing. I’m convinced of it. I think I had something once. I showed promise, didn’t I? But I was too sane. I couldn’t make the leap out of my own soul into the soul of the universe. That’s the leap they all made. From Blake to Rimbaud.
Don DeLillo, Americana

Graffiti found on a wall at Morley Station. It’s been there for years. It’s utter gibberish but I like the colours and was almost tempted to paint it, but I’ve done my brick wall painting and never need to do it again.

Leave a Reply

