The Old Sheds

I took this photograph in November 2016 on a trip back up to Leeds. I was pursuing my usual habit of wandering around the town, a walk that inevitably leads me to certain key locations in the mindspace where memory melds with imagination. These old sheds were built years ago, in fenced-off fields where forlorn-looking horses were kept. I saw no horses this time around, and the ramshackle constructions were collapsing and covered with illegible graffiti. The Romantic imagination has always found inspiration in ruins, and I’m no exception, though for me it’s not English Heritage-approved heaps of stone, it’s knackered old allotment sheds and crumbling garages and burnt-out cars. As always, as I was snapping away with the camera I was thinking this could make for a painting, but it’s not something anyone would really want on their wall, so I let common sense prevail. These places still fascinate me though, and always will.

Leave a Reply

