I Am The Highway

I was genuinely shocked when I heard Chris Cornell had died earlier this week. There’s plenty of ageing rockers who you doubt will make it past Christmas, but he wasn’t one of them. The man was only a couple of years older than me, and his death really made me ponder on all the music he’s made over the years. A lot of it was played on the radio in our office this week, and it was a solid reaffirmation of just how good Soundgarden really were. They always stood out from the ‘grunge’ bands of the early 90’s, simply through sheer force of delivery. I remember the Badmotorfinger album took the top of my head off when I first heard it. So many great songs on there – Outshined, Rusty Cage, Slaves & Bulldozers – that it became one of the staple albums we played when we went to the UK Comic Art Conventions in the mid-90’s, along with Temple Of The Dog, where Chris was backed by members of various Seattle bands. Listening to that music now takes me right back, his utterly distinctive voice working like a time machine. I know what I’ll be listening to this weekend. Here’s to Chris:

Audioslave – I Am The Highway

Soundgarden – Rusty Cage

Temple Of The Dog – Say Hello To Heaven

One thought on “I Am The Highway

  1. I didn’t have an appreciation for Soundgarden until I heard that first Audioslave album. It is so solid. It made me go back and listen to everything else. Chris Cornell’s music helped me through some heavy stuff in recent years.

Leave a Reply

