The Return Of The King

A new drawing, of a gyrfalcon. I am drawn to these birds as a subject for reasons I can’t explain. The appeal of the kestrel (see my painting ‘A Kestrel For A Knave‘) is obvious as it’s something I grew up with, thanks to Alan Clarke and Barry Hines. The gyrfalcon is a different beast altogether. Associated with distant places like China, Iceland and the Ukraine, the bird with its ice-white plumage seems as exotic to me as the phoenix. I still don’t quite understand what they represent but as long as they fly through my imagination I’ll be drawing and painting them.

See also my painting ‘Push The Sky Away‘ and drawing ‘The Secret Keeper

This drawing is for sale. Black ink on white paper. 28.5 x 20cm (A4). E: rik.rawling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

