The Ginnel

The Ginnel - Rik Rawling

I took this photograph a couple of years ago. I was on yet another visit back up north, and decided to walk from Leeds station to my parent’s home in Churwell. The route took me through the districts of Holbeck and Beeston, both being slowly gentrified as the city’s financial boom spills outwards like a blast wave. On this particular Saturday a low mist hung over the rooftops, obscuring familiar landmarks like Elland Road Football Ground, creating a reassuringly melancholic atmosphere that seemed so appropriate to how I felt about returning to the place that made me.

Mogwai – New Paths To Helicon, part two

Leave a Reply

