The Steps

The Steps

I took this photo last November when I was up north. I was walking around, looking for signs of the sublime in the mundane that might be useful for future paintings, when I was struck by the light coming through this usually dark and dingy alleyway behind The Miner’s Arms in Morley. How many times did I walk down here when I was a kid? Probably not as much as I remember, but some places just  fix themselves in your mind, for reasons you can’t explain. Nothing significant happened down here, except perhaps that when I wasn’t looking for it some quiet epiphany arrived and what I recall is that moment of realisation, after which everything else seemed different.

Mogwai – Christmas Steps

Leave a Reply

