Joy Division poster

Joy Division poster - Rik Rawling

I’ve used my 2014 drawing ‘Dead Souls’ for this mock-up of a poster for Joy Division. I was a bit young for the hype that surrounded Joy Division in the late 1970’s, but I do remember buying ‘Ceremony, the first single the band released after Ian Curtis’ death, under the name New Order. Up to that point I’d been buying Virgin reissues of the Sex Pistols or The Dickies coloured vinyl singles, so ‘Ceremony’ was a definite rite of passage from adolescent punk idiot to slightly-less stupid adolescent. The dark myth surrounding Curtis I always found rather impenetrable, and I certainly never made the pilgrimage to Macclesfield to visit his grave. It was only in later years that I came to appreciate just what that band had represented.

Joy Division – 24 Hours

New Order – Ceremony

Leave a Reply

