The Hidden Heart Of Fire

The Blue Hawk - Rik Rawling 2010

The hawk was fugitive, wild, a creature of shadow, doomed, dim with the power of death. It was distance, mystery, hope, the hidden heart of fire from which the green leaves burned and fluttered.

J.A. Baker, The Hill Of Summer

I found this drawing in my archives, dated August 2010. I was using blue ink back then as that’s all I had to hand, but I feel it worked really well for this drawing, giving it a mysterious and melancholy tone.

Leave a Reply

