From My Studio

studio-window

My ‘studio’ is really nothing more than a back-bedroom in a suburban semi-detached house. Alongside my work table, art materials and bookshelves there is loads of other rubbish that hasn’t quite made it into the loft or the charity shop yet. Given the cramped conditions I often find myself looking out of the window at nothing in particular, perhaps expressive an inner yearning for more space. It’s not much of a view, but over the years I’ve come to enjoy watching the seasons move through it. Below is Gilbert – brother of Stanley – Spencer’s view from his studio window, which appears more expansive than my own, but having a more mundane view of some knackered old garages and pebble-dashed extensions certainly helps to keep you grounded and serves as a reliable motivation to crack on and paint something beautiful.

Leave a Reply

