Chris Campbell: Blasphemous Rumours

blasphemous-rumours-chris-campbell

Chris Campbell is a Leeds-based artist whose progress I’ve been following for some time. We’ve exchanged emails over the years and I think we share some common tastes, though when it comes to the paintings he’s more confident about entering the dark places than I am. Perhaps that because it’s territory I feel I explored sufficiently during my thirties when I was still doing comix and illustrations for some very strange zines. My aesthetic is somewhat different these days, though I still agree with John Burnside’s assertion that there is a blackness in everything that is not only necessary but for the best. And, as George Steiner reminds us, “The dark places are at the centre, pass them by and there can be no serious discussion of the human potential.”

caravan-of-love-chris-campbellshadows-before-chris-campbell

Leave a Reply

