Barry Thompson: Drawings and Paintings

Barry Thompson - painting

When I first saw Barry Thompson‘s paintings and drawings last year, I recognised a kindred spirit. Lonely landscapes, nature studies, glamour magazine reveries and old photos of World War 1 soldiers: memories of his own youth and, to quote Camus,  the two or three simple images in whose presence his heart first opened. His art is an intensely personal and nakedly honest confessional about the very same things I’m obsessed with.

Barry Thompson - drawing

For a long time I had thought it was just me but these drawings and paintings suggest that I am not alone in my yearning for not the past necessarily, but how I felt in the past. Increasingly of late I I find my mind going back to 1986, the year I finally left school and spent a few months on the dole before my working life began. They year I learnt a few important lessons. It’s like my subconscious has been trying to tell me something, and I think I’m beginning to understand what that might be.

spotted-flycatcher - Barry Thompson

Leave a Reply

