Project Mogwai

I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead

Between 2008 and 2011 I made a series of painting and drawings inspired by the songs of my favourite band Mogwai. I completed well over 20 of them before I felt I was finished, and they were where I learnt how to paint. Starting out with some old tubes of acrylic found in a box and some cheap A3 canvas panels, I selected images that I felt captured the essence of each of the selected song titles and made a painting, averaging a new one every 2-3 weeks. That’s an amazing rate of output compared to my current glacial pace, but I was driven by something stronger than what I’d ever felt before. I had discovered new sources of inspiration and they were forcing me to look deeper inwards and also further outwards, honing my perceptions to recognise only those things that really mattered to me.

1% Of MonsterChristmas StepsFriend of the NightHow To Be a WerewolfLike HerodRadar MakerScotland's ShameNow You're TakenKilling All The Flies

I’ve evolved a lot as an artist since those early paintings but they will always remain important milestones for me. I’ve selected here what in my opinion are some of the best from the series. Mogwai as a band are still going strong, and are arguably producing some of the best work of their 20+ years together, and I have no intention of stopping either.

Mogwai – I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead

Mogwai – Now You’re Taken

Mogwai – HMP Shaun William Ryder

Mogwai – U-235

Leave a Reply

