J.D. Salinger: The Catcher In The Rye

Catcher In The Rye cover

I don’t exactly know what I mean by that, but I mean it.
J.D. Salinger, The Catcher In The Rye

I’ve used this 2014 drawing as part of a mock-up cover for a book that I admit I’ve never read it. I tried to, a few years back, but I suspect it’s one of those books you have to read when you’re 17 to feel any impact from it. When you’re nearly three times that age it probably doesn’t haven’t a lot to tell you that you haven’t already figured out, and usually via the hard way.

2 thoughts on “J.D. Salinger: The Catcher In The Rye

  1. If you can get started early enough it’s best to read The Catcher in the Rye three times:

    1. When you’re of an age with, or slightly younger than, the book’s protagonist Holden Caulfield. He seems damaged in a cool sort of way, and he knows what’s going on, just like you.
    2. In your twenties, when Holden now comes off as being a bit of a dick.
    3. In your thirties, when with enough distance from both Holden and yourself at his age you can say “Of course he’s a dick. He’s a teenager.”

    However, I don’t think Salinger meant it that way.

  2. ps Salinger famously hated any sort of image on his book covers. This would have him spinning in his grave, Rik, if he hadn’t been cremated!

Leave a Reply

