Ted Hughes: Wolfwatching

Wolfwatching

Using my 2015 drawing’Wolf Like Me’ I’ve mocked-up this cover for Ted Hughes’ poetry collection Wolfwatching. I’ve always been fascinated by wolves, especially by the idea that they used to run wild across Britain, until as recently as the 17th century before they were hunted into extinction. That fascination was turbo-charged when I visited British Columbia in 1998 and saw how the species was a constant motif in much of the locally-produced art, and ever since I’ve drawn and painted and dreamed about them. In an alternate universe I live in a cabin on Vancouver Island with my pet wolf, painting wolves and howling at the moon. Not the sort of thing you can get away with on a Bristol housing estate…

Leave a Reply

