Jarvis Cocker: Mother, Brother, Lover

Mother, Brother, Lover - mock-up book cover by Rik Rawling

I’ve used my 2014 drawing ‘Babies‘ (itself inspired by my favourite of Pulp’s songs) for a mock-up cover of the Faber collection of Jarvis Cocker‘s lyrics Mother, Brother, Lover. As a fellow Yorkshireman, I may be unduly biased towards his work, but I find his lyrics to be some of the best in pop music, and when he refers back to his own youthful experiences in Sheffield I often find the nostalgia they evoke to be quite overwhelming. From ‘Babies‘:

I know you won’t believe it’s true
I only went with her ‘cos she looks like you

Here’s my drawing of Jarvis Cocker:

Jarvis Cocker

And here’s a couple of Pulp songs:

Pulp – Do You Remember The First Time?

Pulp – Seductive Barry

 

Leave a Reply

