Hubert Selby Jr: The Demon

the-demon

It/ll be better tomorrow…
Hubert Selby Jr, The Demon

Reading Selby is so psychologically exhausting that I have to limit them to once a year, and as a latecomer to his work I’ve yet to make it through his entire back-catalogue. His books aren’t cheap second-hand, and because my funds are limited I have to wait until one of his titles makes a rare appearance in a charity shop. I found my copy of The Demon shelved with dog-chewed editions of Richard Laymon and Dean R. Koontz in the ‘Horror’ section. It is a ‘horror’ story, but not in any conventional sense.

Leave a Reply

