Work In Progress

SGWBM pencils at 23 May 2015

Why have one painting on the go when you can have two? I put the pencils on this canvas just today, which caused my wife to ask – especially after seeing this recent drawing – if I was going all ‘romantic’. This gave me cause to wonder just where I am going with what feels like a new direction, and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s a long-overdue reaction to years of embittered cynicism that have dragged me down and stifled my self-expression. After all, cynic is just a wounded romantic, and a painting like this really feels like a first step towards repairing that wound.

Leave a Reply

