The Leopard

The Leopard

The range of the human mind, the scale and depth of the metaphors the mind is capable of manufacturing as it grapples with the universe, stand in stunning contrast to the belief that there is only one reality, which is man’s, or worse, that only one culture among the many on earth possesses the truth. To allow mystery, which is to say to yourself, “There could be more, there could be things we don’t understand,” is not to damn knowledge. It is to take a wider view. It is to permit yourself an extraordinary freedom: someone else does not have to be wrong in order that you may be right.
Barry Lopez

2 thoughts on “The Leopard

    • Cheers. The painting hangs on our living room wall, a gift to my better half for her birthday last year. I’m working on a couple more big cat paintings right now, also for home use. No more how much I try to resist, they seem to be my forte – probably because I feel so passionate about the plight of these creatures, the position on the extinctive brink being down to the folly of our own species.
      As for the words – I copied them into my notebook from one of Barry Lopez’s books, but I can’t recall which one. I can recommend him highly though – start with ‘About This Life’.

Leave a Reply

